a piece of spain in the kitchen

People often say that books live their own life.
Every copy is different, special.

I think one of the greatest things is
to experience the book
– to see it, to touch it, to smell it, to hear it and finally to become a part of it.

Recently I’ve bought a lot of books, mostly cookbooks and pelgrims’ diaries (in addition to Camino de Santiago). I still wait for some of my online orders that are just about come. I hope I have enough time to spend it with each of those books… a big pile next to my bed is growing and growing and growing…

Today I had a little rendezvous with one of the cookbooks I bough this summer – 1080 recepten by Simone Ortega. A Spanish cuisine cookbook published in Dutch. It appeared on the Spanish market for the first time in 1972 and it immediately gained popularity. At the moment 1080 recetas de cocina is considered one the biggest (if not best) masterpieces of Spanish cuisine cookbooks. The book is not only a fantastic compilation of diverse recipes but it’s also an incredible collection of terrific drawings by Javier Mariscal, a famous Valencian artist and designer.
The 976 pages are feast for the eye and spirit! It’s one of the most beautiful books I’ve ever seen… and I’m really glad to be the happy owner of it!

Taking the advantage of a free afternoon I decided to check out one of the recipes.
My choice: #129 Dunne uiensoep (Sopa de cebolla clara). An onion soup. A perfect dish for a winter day! So yummy!

For the eager ones, the translation of the recipe below.
¡Buen provecho!

*

ONION SOUP

* 3 spoons of olive oil
* 2 onions, in thin slices
* 2 spoons of flour
* 2 liters of chicken bouillon
(I modified it a bit and chose for vegetable bouillon)
* 1 spoon of chopped fresh parsley
* desired: 100g of Parmesan cheese
(I added croutons instead)
* salt
(I didn’t add it, the soup is perfect without it!)
for 6 people

Heat the oil in a large pan and fry the onion over low heat for about 10 minutes until it’s brown; stirring occasionally. Take out the onion with a slotted spoon and put it on a plate. Sprinkle the flour into the pan and stir for 2 minutes; the flour should be lightly browned. Pour little by little and stirring all at the bouillon. Add the onion to the pan and keep the soup cooking for 20 minutes. Remove the pan from the heat and bring the soup to taste with salt and parsley. Serve it in a soup tureen and serve with grated cheese if necessary.

3 Responses to “a piece of spain in the kitchen”

  1. With this book, hundreds of new cooks learned to cook. One of the first things that i did when i arrived to my first home, outside my parents home, was to bought this book. Simone Ortega is like an universal grandmother!

  2. […] just fill me up. I felt like having an empanada and I knew I’d find a nice veggie recipe in Simone Ortega’s cookbook. I modified the recipe a little bit and rolled French pastry instead of filling it in like a dough […]

Leave a Reply

