hospitalera’s dream

After my short holiday in Italy in April I set off
for Spain. I spent the first half of May in beautiful Galicia.

*

Let go of the past and go for the future.
Go confidently in the direction of your dreams.
Live the life you imagined.

Henry David Thoreau

Those who have walked Camino de Santiago understand each other without words. Experiences, rituals, needs, effort, pain, happiness. All of those ingredients make pilgrims equal but yet special. Meeting such inspiring people takes you to a different dimension… you live the moment and forget about the reality you left behind. Now and here is what counts.

Ever since I walked my Camino I dreamt of being
a part of it so when the possibility arrived, I reached out my hand. I went to Monte do Gozo to volunteer there as a hospitalera – a person who attends pilgrims and maintains a shelter.
I spent almost three weeks in the green serenity surrounded by wonderful human beings sharing stories and emotions and giving my all to them.

During my stay I got a chance to meet a lot of people from different countries including Spain, Poland, Portugal, France, Italy, Germany, South Korea, Finland, England, USA, Brasil and Greece. The first ten days didn’t, however, abound in a big number of pilgrims. There used to be days when one, two or three people arrived by the end of the day. Rather cloudy skies didn’t encourage many to walk and it seemed that the high season is just about to start in some time…

Funnily enough, the traffic started on my birthday and continued to my departure. With more people there also arrived better weather – warmer and sunnier days. It was such a shame to leave Monte do Gozo filled with laughter and good spirit…
but it gave me a lot of positive energy.
I felt glad and fulfilled and…
Another dream came true!

Leave a Reply

