danza de meirol

Galicia, lovely Galicia…
I can’t resist its charm. After every visit up there, in the north, my will to come back grows stronger. I am recalling the amazing landscapes, green forests, pale yellow dunes during the sunset, grey stones shining after the rain…
the underground churches, Monte Sacro, musicians playing in A Gramola in Santiago and the golden colour of albariño

My last visit in September was short but magical as always. This time filled with a lot of folk music. Folk galego I’ve fallen in love with so much!

So after some busy weeks I decided to spend my first weekend off filled with those enchanting sounds of bagpipes, drums and  violins. One of the first discoveries has been Berrogüetto. And the song that caught my special attention and filled my heart with the waterfalls of saudade was
Danza de Meirol… a truly amazing piece…

Se o candil non alumea
non se colga na parede
e o amor que non é firme
non se fai mais caso del-e.

Agora que vou marchando
as pedriñas chorarán
chorade pedras á noite
que marcho pola mañán.

Cantarei aquí ao teu lado
cantarei e darei son
xa se van aloviando
as penas do corazón.

Se o candil non alumea
non se colga na parede
e o amor que non é firme
non se fai mais caso del-e.

Vou a dar a despedida
que me parece que é ben
o pouco cantar enfada
e o moito parece ben.

Leave a Reply

